Irishman Josh van der Flier succeeds Antoine Dupont as the best player in the world

Failing to expand his collection of personal distinctions, already copiously filled for a player of only 26 years old, Dupont will console himself with his presence in the typical team of the year in the company of his compatriot and friend Grégory Alldritt. The third line of La Rochelle had not been nominated for the supreme title despite a year punctuated by a Grand Slam in the Six Nations Tournament with France and a European club title.

Four Irish in the standard team

A first continental star won in the final by Stade Rochelais at the expense of the Irish province of Leinster (24-21), where van der Flier is playing. The 29-year-old third line wing is the third Irish player to be named the best player in the world after hooker Keith Wood (2001) and fly-half Johnny Sexton (2018). The latter was still one of the four players selected this year, at the age of 37, alongside his fellow winner, Dupont and the South African center three-quarter Lukhanyo Am.

The jury, made up of former international players, crowned through van der Flier a full year for Ireland, the first nation in the world rankings, which places four of its men in the standard team. The Clover XV have won nine of their eleven matches in 2022, only losing in France (30-24) in the Tournament and during the first test of their historic victorious tour in New Zealand (42-19).

On the same subject

Retro rugby 2021: Antoine Dupont, up there

Retro rugby 2021: Antoine Dupont, up there

Designated best player in the world by World Rugby after having received these same distinctions in the Top 14 and in the European Cup, the scrum half flew over the year 2021. He changed dimension

Ruahei Demant crowned among the ladies

On the women’s side, the winners of these World Rugby Awards 2022 logically give pride of place to New Zealand, recently crowned world champion at home, after a superb final against England (34-31), while she seemed to be losing momentum a year earlier. The title of best player in the world was awarded to opener Ruahei Demant, that of female revelation to her teammate Ruby Tui and that of coach of the year to their coach Wayne Smith, preferred to the boss of the Blues Fabien Galthié.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *